After the early success of the Office of Government Commerce’s (OGC) Gateway Reviews in the United Kingdom, New Zealand and some of the Australian governments adopted their own versions of the process.

New Zealand conducted its first reviews in 2008 and Cabinet has mandated the Gateway Review process for high-risk capital projects in departments and Crown Agents. The State Services Commission sets the Gateway Review protocols, which are mostly aligned with the UK government’s guidelines.  Further information can be found here. The State Services Commission has built up a pool of reviewers that includes people resident in New Zealand, but it also uses experts based in Australia.

The Australian federal and state governments have adopted most of the UK Gateway process “as is”, but do not have the repeatable Gate 0 as a programme only review.  The federal government’s Gate 0 (Business Need) is the first of six project reviews.  Gates 1 to 5 follow the UK content.  In the UK, Gate 0 reviews are used only for programmes, with Gates 1 to 5 used for projects. Follow this link to find out more about the Canberra Gateway Review.

The State Government of Victoria introduced the Gateway Review in 2003 and has conducted the most reviews outside of the UK.  It was established as a “hub” by the UK’s Office of Government Commerce meaning it was licensed to run reviews using OGC’s model, though it has modified the names of the gates.  Reviews are run by the Department of Treasury and Finance in Melbourne and this link takes you to its guidance on Gateway Reviews in Victoria. Victoria and New South Wales are the only state governments in Australia to mandate Gateway Reviews if projects meet certain criteria.

This is also the case in Western Australia where the Melbourne modified UK process was adopted, except for the Gate 0 as a programme level review, which is not used.  So there are six gates, the first of which is Strategic Assessment, then followed by the OGC’s five project gates. The Department of Finance in Western Australia is responsible for Gateway Reviews and its process can be found by following this link.

The Western Australian reviews have not adopted the confidence assessment that OGC developed to replace the early traffic light reporting which had become increasingly criticised by the public sector. So reviews are reported using red, amber and green “traffic lights” to indicate the timescales in which the recommendations should be implemented.  Red indicates immediately; amber, by the next review, and green simply indicates that the project could benefit from taking forward the recommendation.

In New South Wales, the Gateway process is different again.  The process is similar to the OGC methodology, but it has been adapted to suit the needs of the state government. It sets out a range of indicators which are reported on, but there is no overall assessment of the programme or project and each indicator is essentially treated as a stand alone item.  Programmes or projects that meet certain criteria must go through the NSW Gateway Process, but most will only be reviewed at the Strategic Assessment and Business Case gates.  To find out more about the NSW Gateway Review Process, follow this link.

The Queensland government uses the same Gateway methodology as the Victorians and Western Australians.  This link will take you to the Queensland Department of Treasury guidance.

South Australia and the Northern Territory do not use Gateway Reviews.  The Tasmanian public sector runs them occasionally and relies on the Victorian Department of Treasury and Finance for resources.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s